Subscribe To E-News

Email Address is required.
First Name is required.
Last Name is required.
  • Autism SA Info Line
    1300 AUTISM
    (1300 288 476)
    1300 288 476

Autism SA Events

Throughout the year, Autism SA hosts a range of events that are a platform for building community awareness and fundraising. Events are planned in alignment with our core values: Together, Curiosity, Courage, Truth, Respect, Adventure, Celebrate.

For the calendar of events for National Autism Awareness Month, please click here.


Autism SA is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Recognition Awards.

Download your nomination form here.


The 2016 Autism SA Recognition Awards were presented on Friday 4 November 2016 at the Goodwood Community Centre.  The Presentation was hosted by David Palmer, Administration Officer from Business Continuity and Autism Ambassador, and the Awards were presented by Jenny Karavolos, interim Autism SA Chief Executive Officer and Professor Warren Bebbington, Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Adelaide and Autism SA Patron.

This was the tenth presentation of the Autism SA Recognition Awards and it also marked the debut of two new Award categories – the Appreciation Award and the Excellence in Education Support Award.

This event also marked 10 years since the first ever Autism SA Recognition Awards Presentation.  The Awards were created by Autism SA in 2005 to recognise the many individuals and organisations that make significant contributions to the organisation as well as for people and families living on the autism spectrum in South Australia.  The first presentation of these Awards was held in 2006 and has been held annually since, with a break in 2015.

Online nominations have again proven to be popular from the public.  51 nominations were received for the Awards this year, with 38 nominations received online.  In total, 50 individuals and organisations were nominated for this year’s Awards (one individual was nominated twice).

The Awards were attended by over 130 people and were treated to a jazz performance by Jamie and the Coastguard Band, while children were treated to fun and activities during the event, including a bouncy castle, video games and fun science.

The 2016 Autism SA Recognition Award recipients are listed below:


The Hilary Johnson Award

Michelle De La Perrelle

Partnership Award

Hotel Royal

Appreciation Award

Carers SA South East

Parent/Carer Award

Melanie Bickley*, Meg Eusope*+ and David & Sonya Ludlow*

Individual Achievement Award

Indiana Andriessen (12 years and under) & Candice Green (13 years and over)

Excellence in Education Award

Cummins Area School

*          All recipients in the Parent/Carer Award category received Special Inspiration Awards

+          Nominated twice


Individual Achievement Special Commendation

Declan Egan and Wyatt Egan (12 years and under)

Excellence in Education Award

Port Lincoln Special School*

*          Received a special mention


12 years and younger

Declan Ball, Alexander Evans, Laryssa King, Douglas Lear and William Smith

13 years and older

Simon Beltrame, Jaydyn Coggins, Chelsea Curtis, James Kennedy-Jones, Melissa Kirkman, Tom Neale, Damon Pasin, Jack Rowe and Noah Shoumack

We congratulate all Award, Special Commendation and Encouragement Award recipients for all their hard work and dedication within the Autism SA community.   Autism SA would not have known about the achievements of these individuals and organisations if it wasn’t for the nominations from Autism SA staff members and the public – a big thank you to everyone who donated their time to make a nomination.  Special thanks go to our sponsors for their kind support for the event and to our volunteers for their kind services.  The 2016 Autism SA Recognition Awards would not have happened without their support.

Autism SA is always on the look out for nominations in the Recognition Awards.  If you know an individual or organisation who has made an achievement or is doing some great things in the autism community, Autism SA would like to know about it.  To make a nomination for next year’s award program, please email David at